India vs South Africa: Ashwin, Jadeja rock South Africa after Mayank Agarwal 215

first_img 7 covers 2/124 (40) & 4/87 (25) 3 lbw b Ravindra Jadeja 5 502/7 d Ravichandran Ashwin R. Ashwin 5 Point 60/5 ( de Kock 23.1 Overs) , South Africa SA Square Leg Square Leg 0 Rohit Sharma R. Sharma third Man Mid on 107 (136.0) & Match Ended Freedom Trophy, 2019, 1st Test South Africa batting SA batting 0 o (63.5) India IND Square Leg Referee: Sir Richie Richardson (WI) Umpires: Chris Gaffaney (NZ), Richard Illingworth (ENG) and Nigel Llong (ENG) r 13 R India beat South Africa by 203 runs 1 Rohit Sharma (IND) R. Sharma (IND) view more view less Theunis de Bruyn de Bruyn b Ravichandran Ashwin 0 – 1 7/145 (46.2) & 1/44 (20) 191 1 56 (67.0) 50 Point 52/4 ( du Plessis 21.5 Overs) , 108 Mid on 431 4 (131.2) & 2 Keshav Maharaj K. Maharaj lbw b Ravindra Jadeja 6s Mid off 52.33 49 0 74 0 0 0 176 (244) & 127 (149) third Man Extras: 4 runs (B: 2, LB: 2, WD: 0, NB: 0, P: 0) 18 vs Ravindra Jadeja R. Jadeja Mid on 5 covers 0 3 Mid on Super Over 2 0 Square Leg 431 third Man 1 323/4 d fine Leg Mid on 40 All batsmen are considered right handed 1 (63.5) 2.57 10 0 2 3.48 India IND 2nd Inns Mid on (136.0) 0 87 35 third Man Mid off 0 25 Toss: IND elected to bat w 0 fine Leg covers Kagiso Rabada K. Rabada c Wriddhiman Saha b Mohammed Shami Freedom Trophy, 2019 Time: (GMT) | 9:30 (Local Time) Top Bowlers Top Bowlers b Mohammed Shami 0 view full scorecard India 191/10 ( K. Rabada 63.5 Overs) , 0 Quinton de Kock (wk) de Kock (wk) b Mohammed Shami Mohammed Shami M. Shami fine Leg third Man Mid Wicket 0 Ravichandran Ashwin (IND) R. Ashwin (IND) Dane Piedt D. Piedt b Mohammed Shami Faf du Plessis (c) du Plessis (c) b Mohammed Shami fine Leg b Mohammed Shami Mid Wicket covers 4/1 ( D. Elgar 3.3 Overs) ,center_img b Mohammed Shami Mayank Agarwal (IND) M. Agarwal (IND) Senuran Muthusamy S. Muthusamy not out 19 70/8 ( K. Maharaj 26.5 Overs) , Freedom Trophy, 2019 Point 2.2 45.37 Mid off wd Mid off Square Leg Mid Wicket (63.5) Mid off Next Point nb covers 20/3 ( T. Bavuma 11.3 Overs) , Point 2 Vernon Philander V. Philander lbw b Ravindra Jadeja All batsmen are considered right handed Dean Elgar D. Elgar lbw b Ravindra Jadeja lbw b Ravindra Jadeja South Africa SA 1st Inns B 161/9 ( D. Piedt 59.1 Overs) , India IND 1st Inns (131.2) 52.70 b Mohammed Shami Square Leg S/R 9 191 Aiden Markram A. Markram c & b Ravindra Jadeja 0 0 fine Leg Square Leg 0 graphs Mid off India vs South Africa: Ashwin, Jadeja rock South Africa after Mayank Agarwal 215India vs South Africa: South Africa were 39 for 3 after R Ashwin removed Aiden Markram and Theunis de Bruyn before Ravindra Jadeja dismissed nightwatchman Dane Piedt after India declared on 502 for 7. Mayank Agarwal’s 215 was the cornerstone of India’s massive first innings total. 0 Mid Wicket Mid off 215 (371) & 7 (31) 19/2 ( de Bruyn 10.5 Overs) , (67.0) 502/7 d 94.73 0 0 All batsmen are considered right handed 12.5 fine Leg fine Leg All batsmen are considered right handed 0 70/6 ( A. Markram 26.1 Overs) , 3 All batsmen are considered right handed commentary Fall of Wickets 2 Mid Wicket 191 Point Match Ended covers 0 0 Point m India Bowling IND Bowling 16 South Africa SA 2nd Inns Mid Wicket 0 39 26 e/r 10.5 b Ravichandran Ashwin advertisement Top Batsmen Top Batsmen 323/4 d No data available! c Wriddhiman Saha b Mohammed Shami Mid on 70/7 ( V. Philander 26.4 Overs) , 5 6 Scorecard 0 Rajarshi Gupta VisakhapatnamOctober 3, 2019UPDATED: October 3, 2019 17:43 IST Mayank Agarwal brought up his maiden Test century and then went on to convert it into a double (PTI)HIGHLIGHTSIndia declared their first innings at 502 for 7 on Day 2 in VizagSouth Africa were 39/3 at stumps after R Ashwin removed Aiden Markram and Theunis de BruynMayank Agarwal (215) and Rohit Sharma (176) led India’s charge with the batIndia took the upper hand in the first Test in Vizag after Mayank Agarwal’s 215 and Rohit Sharma’s 176 helped the hosts declare at 502 for 7 on the second day.Soon after the declaration, R Ashwin snared South Africa opener Aiden Markram, who has 4 hundreds and 6 fifties in an 18-Test career. By the end of the second day, he and Ravindra Jadeja had reduced South Africa to 39/3 having sent back Theunis de Bruyn (4) and nightwatchman Dane Piedt (0) too with India clearly the happier side.India were 202 for no loss overnight after rain and bad light had forced early stumps on the opening day Wednesday. Rohit Sharma led the charge for India on Day 1 with a hundred in his first innings as a Test opener while Mayank Agarwal was happy to play second fiddle.On Thursday, Rohit and Agarwal continued to grind South Africa after India had opted to bat first in the opening match of the 3-Test series. With rain predicted for most of this week, it was important for India to accelerate.And Rohit Sharma, one of the most dangerous openers in the shorter format, took the initiative.After Rohit Sharma and Mayank Agarwal became only the 3rd Indian pair to add 300 plus for the first wicket, Rohit closed in on a maiden Test double hundred. He is the only man with 3 double hundreds in ODIs and it would have been a great way to mark the beginning of a new role in the traditional format.In the 82nd over of the Indian innings, Rohit Sharma decided to target Keshav Maharaj. He first hit a six over long off before inside out to get four more. However, Rohit was beaten by the turn and the flight off the last ball of the over and was out stumped for 176, one short of his personal Test best.advertisementBut Mayank Agarwal was determined to bat long and deep even as Cheteshwar Pujara (6), Virat Kohli (20) and Ajinkya Rahane (8) fell cheaply. Agarwal became the 23rd Indian batsman to hit a double hundred in Test cricket and immediately hit a six after reaching the milestone as India looked to up the ante.After Dean Elgar ended Agarwal’s marathon 215-run knock with a full toss, it was up to Ravindra Jadeja and Hanuma Vihari to press ahead. But Vihari, who had an excellent time in the West Indies fell cheaply and it was left to comeback man Wriddhiman Saha to play the fastest innings of his Test career.Saha made 21 off 16 before falling with 500 in sights for India. Virat Kohli eventually declared with India looking to bowl at least 20 overs to South Africa.After 3 overs from pacers Ishant Sharma and Mohammed Shami, it was over to the spin pair of R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja.Ashwin struck in his 3rd over to get rid of the dangerous Aiden Markram. Ashwin, playing his first Test in 10 months, was pumped up after outfoxing the South African opener.South Africa’s overnight batsmen Dean Elgar and Theunis de Bruyn will have their task cut out against Ashwin and Jadeja on a pitch that has started to offer considerable turn to the spinners.Also Read | Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal break Gautam Gambhir-Virender Sehwag opening record vs South AfricaAlso Read | India vs South Africa: Mayank Agarwal hits maiden Test hundredFor sports news, updates, live scores and cricket fixtures, log on to Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for Sports news, scores and updates.Get real-time alerts and all the news on your phone with the all-new India Today app. Download from Post your comment Do You Like This Story? Awesome! Now share the story Too bad. Tell us what you didn’t like in the comments Posted byAjay Tiwari Tags :Follow India vs South Africa 1st TestFollow Mayank AgarwalFollow Ravichandran Ashwin All batsmen are considered right handed 0 Mid Wicket Temba Bavuma T. Bavuma b Mohammed Shami 2 3.23 lbw b Ravindra Jadeja 3 25 not out Ishant Sharma I. Sharma third Man Ravindra Jadeja (IND) R. Jadeja (IND) Series Status: India lead the 3 Test series 1-0 Player Of The Match: Rohit Sharma covers 0 South Africa 20 All batsmen are considered right handed 0 0 c & b Ravindra Jadeja third Man 44 4s 0 18 1 0 3 0last_img read more

Continue reading